Creamy linguine pasta with gorgonzola & roasted pumpkin [guest post]

[Guest post by fellow flâneuse Cristina, editor of Un’Oca in Cucina]

This is my first post as a guest blogger for flânerie féminine and I look forward to sharing my Italian veggie recipes with you during 2013.

Cooking is one of my greatest passions. I cook everyday, as it always seems to relax me. It also allows me to exercise my creativity. If you think about it, cooking is not that different from painting: you start with an idea, you look for the ingredients, and then you assemble them, looking for the perfect balance.

For my first recipe on flânerie féminine, I decided to prepare something with pumpkin (one of my favorite seasonal vegetables) and gorgonzola cheese. This is a very common combination in Italy and makes for great comfort food dishes: risottos, soups, pizzas and gnocchi.

Here is the recipe step by step. Ingredients are for two servings. 

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Split a small pumpkin in half, remove the seeds, peel, and cut into pieces.

Put the pumpkin pieces on a baking sheet covered with baking paper.

Sprinkle with black pepper and salt, and bake for 30 minutes until tender.

In the meanwhile, prepare the béchamel sauce. Melt 40 grams of butter in a pot, add 35 grams of flour, and cook for five minutes stirring constantly, making sure the flour doesn’t form lumps. Add 400 grams of whole fat milk a little at a time. Bring the mix to a simmer. Add nutmeg and keep stirring until the béchamel sauce thickens.

Add 160 grams of linguine pasta to 1,6 liters of boiling salted water. Stir occasionally and keep it boiling. Drain when the linguine are al dente (after approximately 7-8 minutes).

Add the béchamel sauce to the pasta and stir quickly. Put the linguine on two plates and serve with 50 grams of gorgonzola cheese cubes and the roasted pumpkin pieces.

Linguine

Linguine

Linguine

Linguine

Liked this dish? I hope you will try cooking this at home and look forward to your feedback!

Cooking tips for a perfect pasta dish: Use one liter of water for every 100 grams of pasta. And for every liter of water you need 10 grams of salt.

**********

For more yummy Italian recipes:

18 responses to “Creamy linguine pasta with gorgonzola & roasted pumpkin [guest post]

  1. Delicious!! I love the simplicity of it and how the flavours don’t have to compete with each other. I imagine roasted pine nuts would go well too for added texture…mmm…hungry now!

  2. it sounds really nice. does the quantities given make the amount shown in the picture? I am only asking as it seems like a small portion (and I know I would want more)

Leave a Reply

