The streets of Zurich: Langstrasse: Lily’s

This is the first post on Langstrasse, the fourth street to be featured in The Streets of Zurich blog post series.

Langstrasse (meaning “long street” in German) is a street in Zurich’s 4th district, which is also known as the city’s red light district. Langstrasse might not be as posh as the other streets that have been featured in this blog post series, but it is certainly a great spot to try the cuisines of different world regions: Indian, Asian, Middle Eastern…. Indeed, district 4 is truly multicultural and has the highest rate of foreign residents in Zurich.

Langstrasse

Today I went to Lily’s Stomach Supply, an East Asian restaurant with modern interiors. To my surprise, they had a special Indian menu this time. Since I hadn’t had Indian food since my New Year’s trip to Vienna, I figured I’d try one of their Indian dishes.

Lily's

For the appetizer, however, I sticked with the restaurant’s usual menu and ordered some edamame. The soybeans had just been cooked and were a little hot, which I liked a lot.

Lily's

My main course was an Indian special: a veggie stew, served with naan bread, roti flatbread, and cucumber raita.

Lily's

Although the servings were big enough to make me feel full, I was craving green tea ice cream, one of absolute favorites.

Lily's

Lunch at Lily’s was very good and, as I went there at a rather late time for lunch (1:30 p.m.), the atmosphere was calm and pleasant. Definitely a nice spot for an informal quick lunch.

**********

ORDER:

  • Appetizer, 8,00 SFr.
  • Main course, 21,50 SFr.
  • Ice cream, 4,50 SFr.
  • Diet coke, 4,80 SFr.

**********

Address: Langstrasse 197, 8005 Zurich

Opening hours: Mon-Thu, 11 a.m.-midnight / Fri-Sat, 11 a.m.-1 a.m. / Sun, 11 a.m.-10:30 p.m.

Website: http://www.lilys.ch

4 responses to “The streets of Zurich: Langstrasse: Lily’s

Leave a Reply

