Lunch at… Artemisa Huertas Cortes

Just as I had done before flying to Valencia, I prepared a list of veggie restaurants for my trip to Madrid, too. Spain might not be a very veggie-friendly country, but if you do some research, you can find some good restaurants that serve exclusively vegetarian (or even vegan) food.

Madrid is Spain’s capital and largest city, so it no surprise that the city does have several veggie-only restaurants. One centrally-located place is Artemisa Huertas Cortes, a modest-looking restaurant close to many of the city’s landmarks.

Artemisa

The restaurant was quite busy when I arrived at 1:30 p.m. and I could tell that it was well-liked by locals.

They serve a daily lunch menu and I decided to go for that, since all courses sounded yummy and the price was extremely convenient.

I started my meal with pumpkin soup, one of my favorite soups. Two other available starters were mexican salad with nacho chips and guacamole, and stewed lentils.

Artemisa

The first course was a platter with veggie paella, zucchini pie, soy burger, and broccoli in mediterranean sauce. I liked everything except the zucchini pie, as I figured it contained too much egg and didn’t want to push my luck with my egg intolerance too far.

Artemisa

There were six desserts on the menu, of which only the apple cake was vegan. Since I wanted something egg-free, I ordered the apple cake. It tasted very good.

Artemisa

I enjoyed my lunch at Artemisa Huertas Cortes and will definitely go back when I visit Madrid again. Not that I need an excuse to plan a trip to Spain’s lovely capital city!

**********

ORDER:

  • Lunch menu of the day, 11,90 €

**********

Address: Ventura de la Vega 4, 28014 Madrid

Opening hours: Mon-Sun, 1:30 p.m.-4 p.m. & 9 p.m.-midnight

Website: http://restaurantevegetarianohuertascortes.com

9 responses to “Lunch at… Artemisa Huertas Cortes

  1. Yum, that looks great! Finding veggie food in Spain can definitely be tough…especially when they count tuna and ham as ‘vegetarian’.

    I’ve found a couple veggie restaurants in Barcelona, and even a vegan one!

Leave a Reply

