Lunch at… That’s Vapore

In a previous post, I reviewed my very good lunch at one of Milan’s few vegetarian-only restaurants, Al Grande Cerchio. Just a short walk away is another restaurant I checked out a couple of weeks ago: That’s Vapore.

That’s Vapore is a restaurant I had first mistaken for a vegetarian place. It might have been because of its name, which calls to mind healthy steamed veggies. Or maybe I had been “misled” by the large display of salads by the entrance.

That's Vapore

When I stepped inside and read the menu, I quickly realized that they didn’t serve exclusively vegetarian food. Nevertheless, there were lots of veggie options, so I decided to take a seat.

I wanted to start my meal with the soup of the day, but – very surprisingly – the waitress told me they could not prepare it at that moment.

So, I went for a dish of assorted vegetables, instead: artichokes, carrots, onions, sweet potatoes, potatoes, fennel, radish, pumpkin, zucchini, and grapes, tossed with fresh herbs and extra virgin olive oil.

That's Vapore

That's Vapore

Although I was initially planning to order a main course after the veggie mix, I felt too full to have any more food. However, after a few minutes, I figured a dessert could only do me good and ordered a fruit salad with yogurt.

That's Vapore

I enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. The interiors reminded me of Refettorio Simplicitas, another Milanese restaurant I reviewed sometime ago.

This is a nice spot to check out if you’re in the area.

**********

ORDER:

  • Assorted vegetables, 8,50 €
  • Fruit salad with yogurt, 4,50 €
  • Diet coke, 2,50 €

**********

Website: http://www.thatsvapore.com

Address: Via Buonarroti 3, 20144 Milan

Opening hours: Mon-Sun, 7:30 a.m.-midnight

2 responses to “Lunch at… That’s Vapore

Leave a Reply

