The streets of Zurich: Limmatquai: Il Molino

This is the fourth post on Limmatquai, the street featured this week in The Streets of Zurich blog post series.

There are so many restaurants and cafés on this street – a few blog posts will not be enough to review them all. But there is one place I absolutely wanted to include in this series, for the simple reason that I’ve been there so many times since I first moved to Zurich in 2005 (I lived in a few other cities as well since then).

Il Molino is a chain of pizzerias spread all over Switzerland. There are two branches in central Zurich and one of them is located on Limmatquai.

I went there for lunch today, seriously craving some good Italian food!

Though I would usually order either a diet soda or a glass of red wine when I’m at an Italian restaurant, this time I felt like having an apéritif. The waitress suggested the Apéritif of the House: a glass of prosecco mixed with Campari. I loved the bittersweet flavor and the intense red color.

Molino

I started with a small mixed salad, which was served with slices of both white and black olive bread.

Molino

Molino

Every month, Il Molino updates its monthly specialties, and this month it’s spaghetti time! I was tempted to go for spaghetti with oil, garlic, and chili pepper flakes (spaghetti olio, aglio e peperoncino), but then decided otherwise and ordered my favorite pizza, pizza quattro formaggi, with mozzarella, Gorgonzola, Parmesan, and Pecorino cheese.

Molino

The pizza was very delicious, as usual. I can’t wait to be back again soon! After all, who doesn’t love a good cheese pizza?

**********

ORDER:

  • Apéritif: 10,10 SFr.
  • Mixed salad: 4,50 SFr.
  • Pizza: 20,90 SFr.

***********

Address: Limmatquai 16, 8001 Zurich

Opening hours: Mon-Sun, 8 a.m.-midnight

2 responses to “The streets of Zurich: Limmatquai: Il Molino

Leave a Reply

