Lunch at… Restaurante Ana Eva

This is my third trip to Spain, but my first one to Valencia, Spain’s third largest city after Madrid and Barcelona.

I love Spain: the people, the culture, the architecture…

Food-wise, however, Spain tends to be kinder to meat-eaters than to vegetarians. Think of the meat-obsessed tapas dishes, or seafood paella. Reason why, I was very happy to discover that Valencia has not less than six exclusively vegetarian restaurants. Not bad for a city with 809’ooo inhabitants, don’t you think?

Yesterday, I decided to have lunch at Restaurante Ana Eva, which is very close to Jardin Botanico, one of Valencia’s most important sightseeing spots I wanted to check out. I went at 1:30 p.m., more or less the time people in Spain have lunch.

The restaurant has two dining areas. I took a seat in the one resembling a covered backyard garden. The decor was very relaxing – I really liked that.

Restaurante Ana Eva

Since the menu was entirely in Spanish, the waiter translated almost all items into English for me.

I was quite undecided. There were several dishes on the menu that sounded worth trying. In the end, I ordered stewed potatoes with Roquefort cheese cream as the starter. I definitely didn’t regret that!

Restaurante Ana Eva

I also ordered bread, which is indeed served as an extra in many restaurants in Valencia. I like the way the Spaniards have their bread, i.e., with olive oil and herbs (sometimes also with crushed tomato and garlic).

Restaurante Ana Eva

The main course wasn’t easy to choose either, given the wide range of yummy-sounding dishes. Since I hadn’t had seitan for quite some time, I went for the seitan pie with artichoke, asparagus, and mushroom creamy sauce.

Restaurante Ana Eva

Both dishes tasted really good and were very beautifully presented. I also admired the professional and friendly service, and enjoyed the cozy atmosphere in the backyard dining area. If you ever happen to pass by Jardin Botanico in Valencia, you should definitely head to Restaurante Ana Eva for a veggie meal!

**********

ORDER:

  • Fried vegetables, 7,50 €
  • Seitan pie with artichoke, asparagus, and mushroom creamy sauce, 10 €
  • Bread, 1,50 €
  • Mineral water, 2 €

**********

Address: Calle Turia 49, 46008 Valencia

Opening hours: Thu-Sun, 1:30 p.m.-4 p.m. & 9 p.m.-11 p.m.

 

Leave a Reply

