Swiss Riviera & Montreux Noël

Most often, people tend to associate Switzerland with white mountains and world-class ski resorts. Others think of its financial centers, Zurich and Geneva, both of which rank among the top ten financial centers in the world. But only a few people mention the Swiss Riviera region when asked about places in Switzerland they would like to visit or have already visited. That, in my opinion, is a true pity, as the region has stunningly beautiful scenery and hosts great events all year round.

The French-speaking region comprises Vevey and Montreux, as well as several other nearby towns. It also includes the Lavaux Vineyard Terraces, a UNESCO world heritage site. The hiking route through the vineyards is classified by Switzerland Tourism as one of the 32 most enjoyable hiking routes in Switzerland. I’ve hiked that route seven times and can definitely recommend it!

Swiss Riviera

IMG_4667

Having spent 16 months of my eternally nomadic life in Geneva, I got to know the region quite well, especially through multi-day hiking tours. There are quite a few spots and towns I enjoy going back to: St. Saphorin, Lutry, Cully, La Tour-de-Peilz, Château de Chillon… Besides Vevey and Montreux, of course!

Especially Vevey, I would say. Vevey is my favorite town in the region and is home to Nestlé’s international headquarters, the (Nestlé-founded) Food Museum (which deserves an entire blog post of its own!), and the Swiss Museum of Games – to name just a couple of interesting places to check out.

Lakeside promenade, Vevey

Lakeside promenade, Vevey

La Tour-de-Peilz

La Tour-de-Peilz

La Tour-de-Peilz

Swiss Museum of Games, La Tour-de-Peilz

Many famous people have sojourned in Swiss Riviera: Charlie Chaplin, Freddie Mercury, Lord Byron, Princess Sissi, Igor Stravinski, and Vladimir Nabobov, being perhaps the most famous.

IMG_7692

IMG_7650

Every summer, Montreux hosts an international jazz festival. I have to confess that I haven’t attended it yet, but I did hear and read rave reviews about it.

The event in Montreux I do attend every year is Montreux Noël, a Christmas celebration with five different sites both in and just outside the city. I went back today and spent the afternoon strolling the lakeside promenade and through the 150 stands of the main Christmas market.

IMG_7689

Below are pictures I took of the market’s colorful stands. And there were yummy stands, too! I had a very delicious pizza margherita (12 SFr. or 10 €) inside a chalet-stand with a lovely fire in the middle.

IMG_7639

IMG_7687

I wish you all a wonderful Christmas break! Only six days left before we can open our Christmas presents! Yay!

IMG_7681

IMG_7680

IMG_7679

IMG_7678

IMG_7677

IMG_7676

IMG_7675

IMG_7674

IMG_7686

15 responses to “Swiss Riviera & Montreux Noël

  1. Switzerland truly is spectacular! It reminded me a wee bit of home (Whistler and the Rockies) when I was there, but on such a grander scale. I’ve only been the Italian and German cantons, next time perhaps a visit to the French one is in order!

  2. I love these pictures so very, very much!!! I’ve only spent a few days in Switzerland but I absolutely loved my time there. 🙂 I really hope to return one day soon for some real exploring. I’d especially love to go on those hikes you described. 🙂

  3. Great article! Thank you so much for showing me some beautiful pictures of my hometown while I m sitting here at work in cloudy Vienna! 😉 I grew up in Lutry, and I can only agree, this region is one of the most beautiful places in Switzerland!
    I wish you a merry Christmas, and hope seeing you soon in Vienna for a “Glühwein”

    • Hi Fabienne! Happy you like the blog post, thank you 🙂

      I once stayed for a night at Hotel Lutry and still remember the beautiful view from the hotel room. It was stunning.

      Merry Xmas to you, too, and see you soon in Vienna! 🙂

  4. I just signed up to do home exchanges and that might be a great place to search for an exchange! What towns would you suggest that would make good bases to explore the area?

Leave a Reply

