Saturday brunch at… Les Gourmandises de Miyuko

I did a quick Google search a week ago typing “vegan tearoom Paris”, while I was looking for places I should try out when I’m in Paris later this week.

The search delivered a few interesting results, the very first one of which sounded quite intriguing: Les Gourmandises de Miyuko.

From the name I could not immediately tell whether I had found what I was looking for or whether Google had misunderstood my request, giving me instead the website address of a Japanese bistro.

Well, it turns out that Google did give me the name of a tearoom, just as I wanted, but the tearoom wasn’t in Paris. Rather, it was in … Zurich!

I had a look at the tearoom’s website and it didn’t take me long to decide that I had to try it out.

So I went there today with a (non-veggie) friend for brunch, and what a pleasant surprise the place was! It was love at first sight with the pretty, Japan-inspired interiors and the lovely table by the window we were given.

Brunch at Miyuko is served on a three-tier cake stand with: Birchermuesli (a Swiss cereal-based breakfast specialty), peach & pineapple chutney, cucumber & carrot sticks, fresh tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, cheese, wasabi-flavored fig jam, cold cuts, jam, butter, fresh pineapple, chocolate pralines, chocolate mousse, and a cupcake. Whole grain bread, white bread, and croissants are served separately.

Miyuko also serves vegan and gluten-free brunches, which need to be ordered in advance at the time of booking.

As for hot drinks, we ordered the house specialty: Matcha Latte, made of foamed milk with pulverized Japanese green tea. The taste of the drink needs some getting used to, but it’s definitely worth a try!

I am glad I discovered this place now that winter is (not-too-slowly) settling in. I already spotted an apple pie and a chocolate-mango-maracuja cake (both vegan!) I would like to try sometime soon.

**********

ORDER:

  • Brunch, 29,00 SFr.
  • Matcha latte, 7,50 SFr.

**********

Website: http://www.miyuko.ch

Address: Beckenhofstrasse 7/9, 8006 Zurich

Opening hours: Mon-Sat, 9 a.m.-6 p.m. / Sun, 9 a.m.-5 a.m.

6 responses to “Saturday brunch at… Les Gourmandises de Miyuko

  1. Great photos! The food is gorgeous –without being so architectural you’re afraid to touch it. What a cute and unusual ambiance! We need a good tearoom here:)

    • This place does, indeed, have very pretty interiors! Funny thing is that it is almost in a “hidden” part of the town and, as I wrote in the post, I discovered it by pure chance!!

      Zurich is definitely worth a visit! Let me know if you will need foodie tips 😉

Leave a Reply

