Lunch at… Mohini

In a previous post I wrote about my skepticism towards Ayurvedic restaurants. Not that I disagree with the Ayurvedic philosophy and its teachings. As a matter of fact, I am too ignorant about Ayurveda to be able to express any meaningful opinion, having read only one book on this topic 16 years ago(!)

The reason for my skepticism is that I am not too sure how much variety a restaurant can offer its customers if it follows strict nutritional principles.

But I might be wrong.

Today I tried out Mohini, Zurich’s first and only Ayurvedic restaurant, which seems to be doing so well that you can hardly ever find a free table. And if you do, and if you’re on your own, you will most probably be asked by another customer to join you at the table, since all other 20+ tables will be already taken.

Mohini is only open for lunch from Monday to Friday and serves a daily menu that includes four courses plus a cold beverage. To be more specific: they bring all dishes together on a large tray.

Today’s menu was:

  • Basmati rice with vegetables (potatoes, cabbage, carrots)
  • Lentils with coriander
  • Mixed salad
  • Saffron cake with pears

(NB: the date written on the menu was incorrect!)

The beverage was a rooibos tea, which tasted okay, but could have been a little sweeter or spicier.

I must admit that I was impressed by the quality of food, especially of the main course, the one with the basmati rice. The vegetables tasted awesome.

The salad and the lentils were also very good. Though the portions looked small, they were enough to make me feel full.

The biggest surprise was the dessert, as I really didn’t expect it to be as tasty as it turned out. I guess the word “saffron” misled me at first.

I am glad I was finally able to get a table at Mohini (today wasn’t my first attempt!) and I now fully understand why it isn’t easy to get one! Do remember to book your table if you want to eat at Mohini! And it’s definitely worth eating there!

**********

ORDER:

  • Daily lunch menu, incl. rooibos tea, 25,00 SFr.

**********

Website: http://www.mohini.ch

Address: Weinbergstrasse 15, 8001 Zurich

Opening hours: Mon-Fri, 11 a.m.-3 p.m.

Leave a Reply

