AC Hotel Milano

I mentioned in a couple of previous posts that I tend to stick with Marriott hotels, because I am a proud miles-junkie and am happy to convert every single Marriott Rewards point into a Star Alliance mile. The more miles I add onto my account, the happier I am.

Luckily  – and actually one of the reasons why I do not bother to switch to any other hotel group – , there are usually several Marriott hotels wherever I travel. To be more precise, by “Marriott” I mean any one of the following brands belonging to Marriott International Group: Marriott Hotels & Resorts, Renaissance, Courtyard, and AC Hoteles.

AC Hoteles was added to Marriott‘s portfolio in November 2011. Since then, I’ve stayed at three AC hotels so far: in Barcelona, Malaga, and Milan. Actually, I’ve already stayed at the one in Milan three times over the past five months. It has become my choice of place whenever I head back to my favorite city in the world!

AC Hotel Milano is located very close to the train and underground station Porta Garibaldi and the stylish street Corso Como. This happens to be my favorite area in Milan. It is a short walk away from the pretty neighborhood of Brera and other major attractions of the city.

The hotel’s interior – of the guest rooms, as well as of other spaces – is rather business-like, but not at all sterile. There are many paintings and other art objects that give a “warmer” feel to the place.

As a foodie, I am always also interested in checking out a hotel’s dining options.

For several reasons (mainly the weather and time constraints) I decided to have lunch with friends twice at the hotel’s restaurant, which is in its lobby. The menu looked very delicious and the food turned out to be even better! The risotto with fresh boletus mushrooms was to die for.

Breakfast was also very good with a large variety of food: cheese, bread, cereal, fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, etc.

Besides breakfast and lunch, another thing I enjoyed having at the hotel was an evening latte in the lobby. The atmosphere was lively and relaxing at the same time – which was the perfect setting for working on my laptop. Something, however, that the hotel could certainly improve is the very high internet access rate: 17-22 € per hour!

I also enjoy checking out a hotel’s fitness center. The one at AC Hotel Milano is rather small, but very pretty. Unfortunately, there was no cross-trainer, which is my favorite exercise equipment, but there were two bikes, a treadmill, and a free weight bench. Plus a large flat screen to watch TV while exercising.

To conclude, I would like to reveal the one reason why AC Hoteles has lately become my favorite Marriott brand.

If you’ve read my two previous hotel reviews, you’ll know how disappointed I am with the recent trend at Marriott hotels to have empty fridges in their guest rooms. AC Hoteles not only still stock the fridges, but also have the minibar included in the room rate. I find that awesome!

Add to that the very friendly and professional personnel, and you’ll understand well why I recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Milano.

Leave a Reply

