Saturday brunch at… Sheraton Diana Majestic

Why have only one brunch over the weekend when you can have two: on both Saturday and Sunday?!

I was a little surprised when I discovered that a few restaurants in Milan serve brunch on both days of the weekend. I tend to think of Saturday as the time of the week when most people (whether single or married with kids) get their shopping and household chores done.

I asked myself: Would anyone really want to spend the entire Saturday afternoon having brunch, rather than postpone this -let’s admit it- über-lazy meal to what is meant to be the laziest day of the week, Sunday?

Well, it turns out that the answer is yes.

But the answer needs some explanation: Most places in Milan serve brunch only between noon and 3 p.m. Compare this with brunch hours, say, in Zurich, where brunch is served from 9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., and you’ll realize that brunch in Milan is more of a “special lunch”.

So, given that a Saturday brunch would still leave me with enough time to do some shopping (after all, this is Milan!), I decided to try out the one at Sheraton Diana Majestic, a luxury hotel in the city center. I went with two non-veggie friends.

Sheraton’s Saturday brunch is served from 12:30 p.m. to 3 p.m. and costs 33 euros, including non-alchoholic beverages from the buffet.

The first thing one notices when entering the hotel’s restaurant is the beautiful decor. The interiors are what I would define “vintage chic”. Stunningly elegant.

There is also a very pretty garden, but it was too cold to eat outdoors.

The buffet was very big and there’s much more than one can possibly eat in a two-hour brunch.

On one table were the more typical breakfast items: cereal, pancakes, cakes, butter, jam, and honey.

I skipped the breakfast table and headed to the one with the salads and main courses, instead. My friends did the same. I started off with the saffron risotto and some bread. It tasted just as great as it looked!

My friends went for some salad and mixed cold cuts.

My second serving was – guess what – cheese. And, lucky me, there was loads of cheese in the buffet.

At around 2 p.m. the maitre de table announced that the desserts were about to be served. The desserts – as everything else in the buffet – looked divine. There was panna cotta, meringue cake, and chocolate mousse (topped with meringue).

Unfortunately for me, however, the only egg-free desserts were the fresh fruits. But these tasted very good, too. So I can’t really complain!

After we finished eating, we stayed a few more moments drinking coffee and enjoying the very pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant. This is definitely a place I would recommend going to for brunch. Though I haven’t been there for other meals, I would still believe the place to be a safe bet for any meal at any time of the week.

2 responses to “Saturday brunch at… Sheraton Diana Majestic

Leave a Reply

