Staying at the Habsburgs’

The past weekend was my last one (for now!) in Vienna. And after so much packing and cleaning, I figured it wouldn’t be a bad idea to spend the last two nights in a hotel.

Since I lived in Vienna’s second district, which is very close to the inner city, I wanted to check out some other district in Vienna. I chose the area where the Schönbrunn Palace is located.

Here is a review of the two hotels I stayed at. As a Marriott elite rewards member, I stick with this hotel group wherever my travels take me!

In a previous hotel review, I complained about the empty fridges in the hotel rooms I stayed in. But it seems that Marriott hotels in Europe, too, no longer stock the fridges. Instead, they have a 24-hour market in the lobby, where they sell items such as soda drinks, wine, beer, chocolate bars, and potato chips.

Renaissance Wien Hotel

What I liked a lot:

  • I was given a voucher to stock my fridge with drinks from the hotel’s 24-hour market. (Had they read my previous blog post where I complained about the empty fridge?)
  • Copious and delicious breakfast buffet.
  • Beautiful interiors: hotel room, lobby, and bar (designed by Harry Aspeck of Raum Concept).
  • Very pretty panorama rooftop pool with an amazing view over the city.
  • News sheet delivered in front of my door early in the morning.
  • Nice background music in the public spaces, especially by the elevators.

What I liked less:

  • No garage / parking lot.

Address: Linke Wienzeile / Ullmannstrasse 71, 1150 Vienna, Austria

Courtyard by Marriott, Wien Schönbrunn

What I liked a lot:

  • I was craving a latte at 5 a.m. and the receptionist was kind enough to prepare one for me, even though the café was officially closed.
  • Nice surprise in my room in the evening: Got three pieces of Linzer Torte!
  • Cozy business center with many books.
  • Spacious garage.

What I liked less:

  • One can only access Internet from one device at a time.

Address: Schönbrunner Schlossstrasse 38-40, 1120 Vienna, Austria

2 responses to “Staying at the Habsburgs’

Leave a Reply

