Lunch at… Tian

In an earlier post I reviewed four vegetarian restaurants in Vienna and rated Tian as “outstanding”. I also wrote that Tian is a restaurant where one would go for dinner on a special occasion.

But what about a solo lunch on a day just like any other? Would I still recommend this restaurant and give it a high, if not outstanding, rating?

I decided to find that out today as I was walking in the inner city, thinking of where to head for lunch.

Tian is a 100% vegetarian restaurant & café and also has what it calls a “take-away.market” selling homemade pastries and desserts.

As most restaurants in Vienna do over noon, Tian serves a daily lunch menu at a very convenient price. The two-course menu, which includes either soup or a mixed salad followed by the main course (only one dish, no alternative choices) costs 10,80 €. The three-course menu includes soup, salad, and main course, and costs 14,30 €.

I went for the two-course menu with soup, which was a creamy coconut & curry soup and tasted really good.

I also ordered a basket of bread. This came with four accompaniments: Australian pink salt (or so the waitor explained to me!), mixed bean sprouts, butter, and oil. Butter and bean sprouts were my choice of accompaniment. Loved it.

The main course was vegetable risotto with lovage foam. That, too, tasted great and perfected matched my high expectations.

I also liked the calm atmosphere in the restaurant. The place was much less full this time than when I went for dinner back in May with three of my friends. I had indeed suspected Tian to be popular in the evening than in afternoon. A few words on the large blackboard covering one of its walls advertised the evening five-course tasting menu for 47,00 €.

Adding to the pleasant atmosphere was the background music. I couldn’t recognize the songs, but I liked it nevertheless!

I decided to go for dessert. Of the five desserts on the menu, only was egg-free. So it was an easy choice. Interestingly, the “vegan egg” with fruit salad was 10 cents more expensive than the entire menu! But, I must say, it was worth its price.

So, did today’s lunch experience match the dinner experience I had four months ago? You bet it did!

It’s true that the place might be more suitable for a dinner-for-two on a special occasion (because of its stylish character), but it is no bad place to have a solo lunch, either.

**********

ORDER:

  • Bread basket, 3,50 €
  • Lunch menu: Soup of the day & main course, 10,80 €
  • Dessert, 10,90 €
  • Soda water, 1,20 €

**********

Website: http://www.tian-vienna.com

Address: Himmelpfortgasse 23, 1010 Vienna

Opening hours: Mon-Sat, 8 a.m.-12 p.m.

2 responses to “Lunch at… Tian

Leave a Reply

