Lunch at… Babu’s Bakery & Coffeehouse

Okay, I have to admit this: I was wrong. I firmly believed this coffeehouse would not make it beyond six months of operation. But now, one year after Babu’s Bakery & Coffeehouse opened on Löwenstrasse, the place is bustling with clients.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s not that I like to be pessimistic about a restaurant’s future. Quite the contrary, I would say. But after seeing one café after the other fail at this exact same location, I felt there was no reason I should be optimistic about any new place.

The second thing I have to admit is that I probably chose the worst time of the week to go there. Saturday afternoon is a bad time to go pretty much anywhere near Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich’s main shopping street.

Yet, I was curious to (finally) try out this café after reading rave reviews about it.

The speciality of Babu’s is coffee. It has around 30 different types of coffee and latte specialties. To name a few: mocha coffee, vanilla hazelnut latte, spicy café au lait, cinnamon café au lait… Prices are around 5 SFr.

The monthly coffee specialty in these days is latte with chestnut honey and lemon zest.

There was a very long queue when I arrived, but that did not deter me. I actually didn’t mind waiting in line and taking a couple of pictures! Babu’s interiors are indeed very pretty.

Babu’s offers several breakfast dishes all day long, but I decided to go for a proper lunch dish. I ordered a veggie focaccia with salad, grilled aubergines, red and yellow peppers, tomatoes, and cottage cheese. The dish came with extra bread on the side.

The portion was very generous and the food tasted great. It quickly became clear to me why the place was so crowded.

I wouldn’t have minded having a small dessert, too. But, unfortunately, there were no egg-free desserts. To be honest, I didn’t ask explicitly whether there were any and just trusted “my eyes”. Also because, given the large crowd, I wasn’t that keen on staying much longer.

The café was so busy that only towards the end of my meal did it occur to me that I had forgotten to order something to drink!

I guess next time I should choose a quieter time of the week to have a longer meal at this lovely café.

**********

ORDER:

  • Veggie focaccia, 21,50 SFr.

**********

Website: www.bobo-l-escargot.ch (soon http://www.babus.ch)

Address: Löwenstrasse 1, 8001 Zurich

Opening hours: Mon-Sat, 7 a.m.-8 p.m. / Sat, 9 p.m.-5 p.m.

Leave a Reply

