Breakfast at… Corns n’ Pops

One disadvantage of not having office hours is that you don’t (can’t?) stick to “normal” mealtimes. There are days when you stay up late writing, go to bed at 4 a.m., wake up at 11 a.m., and head somewhere for breakfast at around noon.

What do you eat then: breakfast or lunch?

Corns n’ Pops is one of several places in Vienna serving breakfast until late in the afternoon – from Monday to Saturday. It is only a short walk away from Naschmarkt, the city’s über-popular fresh produce market.

The food served here is no ordinary one. Indeed, Corns n’ Pops’s specialty is… muesli. Muesli is the German word for a breakfast meal made of cereals, fruits, and nuts.

Corns n’ Pops has all sorts of cereals beautifully arranged in a buffet, together with a large selection of dried fruits and nuts. There is also a bowl with sliced fresh fruits, as well as several toppings, such as honey, chocolate sauce, or even smarties.

Customers can put together their own muesli mix and then add yogurt and/or milk to it.

I took a seat at the only table in the same room as the buffet. The restaurant is not big; however, the other five to six (small) tables it has are in an adjacent room.

The decor is pretty and somewhat resembles that of a teenage girl’s bedroom. I loved it. But I am not sure a man would feel the same way about it, too!

Besides serving food, Corns n’ Pops also sells tea, marmalade, porcelain, and quite a few kitchen gadgets.

I started off with a bowl of my own muesli mix. There’s only one bowl size available and it costs 4 €. A pretty fair price.

I chose from the “healthier” options, meaning cereals without added sugar, dried and fresh fruits, macadamia and cashew nuts. I added milk rather than yogurt to my mix.

The muesli tasted really good, and I was impressed by the quality of the ingredients.

I was still a little hungry, though. I ordered a plain bagel and a portion of cream cheese. The bagel was heated in the oven for a couple of minutes and tasted lovely.

In addition to its muesli buffet, Corns n’ Pops also has several bagel sandwiches on its menu: e.g. with ham and red pesto; with mozzarella and tomato; with paprika cream and vegetables. Prices range from 2 € to 4 €.

There is a daily lunch menu, too. Today, for example, they served spinach salad with goat-milk cheese, balsamic vinegar, peas, and beetroot (4 €). Penne pasta and couscous with feta cheese were the two other lunch options (4 € each).

Though the food was really good and the atmosphere very pleasant and relaxing, my meal ended on a sad note.

After paying, the waitress asked if I wanted to purchase their loyalty card. I told her I will be leaving Vienna in a month’s time, so I wouldn’t really use it.

That was the first time I truly realized how much I will miss Vienna. I am very lucky to have had the chance of spending an entire year of my life in this amazing city.

Wien ist anders.*

*This is the city’s motto: “Vienna is different / unique”.

**********

ORDER:

  • Muesli mix, 4,00 €
  • Plain bagel, 1,50 €
  • Cream cheese, 0,50 €
  • Soda water, 2,00 €

**********

Website: http://www.cornsnpops.com

Address: Gumpendorfer Strasse 37, 1060 Vienna

Opening hours: Mon-Fri, 7:30 a.m.-5 p.m. / Sat, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

4 responses to “Breakfast at… Corns n’ Pops

    • Hi, thank you for your comment!
      This is a great concept, indeed. I am not aware of any other place like this in continental Europe.
      Looking forward to further interaction.
      Best, Miret

Leave a Reply

