Lunch at… Vegetasia

It was a while since I last went to Vienna’s third district for lunch. They call it the “Diplomats’s district”, or Diplomatenviertel in German.

As a matter of fact, I had nothing taking me there yesterday, either.

But what reason do we need to end up in some part of the city other than just wanting to be there?

I was in Vienna’s second district and three kilometers away when I decided to head to Vegetasia, a Taiwanese restaurant serving vegetarian (actually, mostly vegan) food.

This was the very first restaurant I tried out after moving to Vienna last summer. Every time I come here, I remember how hectic my first days in Vienna were!

Every day from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., Vegetasia serves an all-you-can-eat buffet for only 7,80 €. That’s a very competitive price.

I started off with baked tofu, avocado maki, bean sprouts salad, and mock lobster chips. (NB: Vegetasia has several mock-meat specialties on its à la carte menu that are most probably meant for their non-vegetarian clients.) The maki were really good.

The second time I headed to the buffet, I grabbed steamed dumplings with vegetable filling, a mix of vegetables, and nuts.

I was still hungry. The spicy seitan salad looked very attractive. I had some of that, too.

And why not get some more to eat from the lovely buffet for the fourth time? I had basmati rice and so-called Buddhas Lieblingsspeisen, which, translated into English, means “Buddha’s favorite food”. Don’t ask me why. (I figured an extra dumpling would be a great complement ;-))

To drink? A glass of soda water. I am trying hard to limit my consumption of diet coke!

Last but not least… dessert, of course. Vegetasia‘s vanilla pudding is a must-eat. It looks cute and I always smile when I see it.

There’s probably one question you want to ask me: Was Vegetasia‘s buffet worth the 3km-walk from the second district down to the restaurant? Oh, absolutely!

**********

ORDER:

  • All-you-can-eat buffet, 7,80 €
  • Soda water, 1,50 €

**********

Website: http://www.vegetasia.at

Address: Ungargasse 57, 1030 Vienna

Opening hours: Daily, 11:30 a.m.-11 p.m.

Leave a Reply

