Lunch at… Nice Rice

I have a confession to make: I went to this restaurant expecting nothing but a disastrous lunch.

True, prejudice is wrong, if not outright stupid. Yet, no matter how hard we try, we do form an opinion about other people or places before we even talk to them or go there. Don’t we?

There are two reasons why I was at first somewhat skeptical of Nice Rice. The first reason is its insistence on writing the word “Ayurvedic” all over its menu. It is more likely that not that guests will not know what Ayurvedic cuisine exactly entails, so why stress the Ayurvedic aspect of the food so insistently?

The second reason is its location, which happens to be right in front of a shop selling esoteric gadgets. Combine this with the Ayurvedic menu, and the image I got of the restaurant was of “some place serving spiritual-healing food over lunch”. I personally didn’t like it.

Actually, I still don’t.

Having said that, I always found its outdoor seating in the Raimundhof alleyway really pretty, as well as its beverage menu.

Today’s menu – putting aside the Ayurvedic part- sounded good, too. So I decided to stop by for lunch.

At Nice Rice you have the choice among (i) daily menu composed of soup plus main course (8,50 €), (ii) dish of the day (7,90 €), (iii) salad of the day (7,90 €). I went for the first option.

Soup of the day was an Ayurvedic (what else?!) cauliflower cream soup with fennel seeds, turmeric, and curry. The main course was a wild-rice risotto with spinach, dried tomatoes, cashew nuts, sheep-milk cheese, rocket salad, and seed oil.

And, guess what, the food turned out to have a spiritual healing effect, indeed! It was awesome and I regretted not having tried it out before. Silly prejudice, I told myself.

But since there is no such thing as the perfect meal (Is that actually true? Hmm…), there was one thing they could have done better: the bread. I would have expected whole grain bread or some other dark bread. Instead, they served white sesame bread, which was okay but far from great.

I enjoyed the meal that much to the point that I decided to go for dessert as well.

They had three desserts on their menu today, all of them cooked without eggs and one totally vegan. I ordered the vegan dessert, a blueberry and coconut cake. And it was very delicious, just as the rest of the meal was.

So I guess I learned a valuable lesson today: Prejudice is indeed a very foolish thing!

**********

ORDER:

  • Menu: Soup & main course, 8,50 €
  • Vegan blueberry & coconut cake, 3,50 €
  • Soda water, 1,50 €

**********

Website: http://www.nicerice.at

Address: Im Raimundhof 49, 1060 Vienna

Opening hours: Mon-Fri, 11 a.m.-11 p.m. / Sat, 11 a.m.-6 p.m.

Leave a Reply

