Sunday brunch at… Orlando di Castello

I believe in the importance of forgiving people’s mistakes and giving them a second chance. The same goes for restaurants.

Three weeks ago I stopped by Orlando di Castello, a restaurant in Vienna’s inner city district with Alice-in-Wonderland-like interiors, for an outdoor lunch.

I took a seat and waited over 10 minutes for either one of the two waiters to hand me a menu. But neither of them came, although one waiter didn’t have much to do and was standing idly by the cashier in the outdoor area. I was irritated and then left.

Despite this first bad experience, I decided to try my luck again and go there for brunch yesterday. I was still too intrigued by the restaurant’s interiors not to try out its food.

And this time things went much better.

The same waiter that had totally ignored me the last time was now rather friendly. He even had a flirtatious attitude.

The restaurant has a separate, eight-page menu for its Sunday brunch, which is served à la carte.

I ordered a cappuccino, a Mimosa (sparkling wine and orange juice), Manchego cheese, a Caprese salad (tomatoes, buffala mozzarella, pesto sauce, bread croutons – served in a small glass), and bread.

The service was quick and the food very good. I am glad I gave the place a second try. There may well be a third time sometime soon!

Orlando di Castello Orlando di Castello Orlando di Castello

**********

ORDER:

  • Cappuccino, 2,00 €
  • Mimosa, 4,50 €
  • Manchego cheese, 4,90 €
  • Caprese salad, 4,90
  • Bread, 2,00 €

**********

Address: Freyung 1, 1010 Vienna

Opening hours: Mon-Fri, from 7:30 a.m. / Sat-Sun, from 9 a.m. (food served until 6:30 p.m.)

Leave a Reply

