Hello!

Hello!

As this is the very first post on the blog, I figured I would let you readers know who I am and what this blog is about.

So let’s start with myself. I am a former finance academic now turned science communications officer and scientific writer, working for finance departments at Swiss universities.

I decided to move from research to research communications for the simple reason that I believed (and still do) that I could deliver an added value in a more creative field. Still, I wanted to do a job where I could make use of my PhD in finance. Hence, the PR job for my fellow finance academics.

A very nice aspect of my job is that I travel a lot, attending conferences and workshops. I love traveling to new and old places – and not only for work, of course! And as I also love writing and sharing my experiences with others, I decided to get formal training in travel writing and enrolled on the London School of Journalism’s 15-month distance learning course. Two months into the course, I must say I am really enjoying it!

But why stop there, I said to myself. I love food, too. I will soon be attending a course in lifestyle journalism, again offered by the London School of Journalism. This time it won’t be distance learning, though, and I am so much looking forward to it.

You’ve probably already guessed where this blog fits in. Yes, exactly. In tandem with my training in travel and lifestyle writing, I will be blogging here on places I travel to, restaurants I eat at, eccetera eccetera.

I hope you will enjoy my posts and I look forward to receiving your comments!

Miret

2 responses to “Hello!

  1. What fun that you stopped by my space so I could trace you back here to yours. I admire your courageous decision to move towards new creative fulfillment — you’ve already taken a tremendous step by starting this blog; keep at it!

Leave a Reply

